Is Apple Cider Gluten-Free?

Are you wondering if apple cider is gluten-free? Get the quick answer here.

is apple cider gluten free

Apple cider is the perfect warm drink for fall and winter. If you enjoy warming up with a mug of apple cider, you may be curious if apple cider contains gluten.

In this article, we will answer all of your questions about apple cider, hard cider, and gluten. Keep reading to learn more.

Thrive Market has a ton of gluten-free foods, snacks, pantry items, and frozen foods! I love that I can filter and shop for only gluten-free products. Thrive Market is also my go-to because I save money because all of their products are wholesale prices! If you want to check out Thrive Market, you can get a free gift when you sign up!

Are you on the hunt for gluten-free recipes? I highly recommend Danielle Walker’s cookbook Eat What You Love. This cookbook contains recipes that are gluten-free, dairy-free, and Paleo. I find so much inspiration in these recipes!

Is Apple Cider Gluten-Free?

Apple cider is typically gluten-free, but not always. When purchasing apple cider, it is best to check the label to make sure the cider is indeed gluten-free.

Apple cider is made from pressed apples. As long as there is no cross-contamination, apple cider should be gluten-free.

Is Hard Cider Gluten-Free?

The majority of hard ciders are gluten-free. Hard ciders are typically made with apple juice. Apple juice does not contain any gluten unless there has been cross-contamination. As long as there has been no cross-contamination, hard cider should be gluten-free.

What To Look For On Labels When Avoiding Gluten

When shopping for gluten-free products, it’s important to read the nutrition label carefully to make sure the product is safe to consume. Here’s what to should look for on a nutrition label to determine if a product is gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Certification

Sometimes products will have labels that say they are gluten-free. There are a few organizations like the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) and the Celiac Support Association (CSA) that test and verify that products are gluten-free.

The gluten-free certification is a helpful designation that some products have. Keep in mind, not all products that are gluten-free have gluten-free certification. So, if a product isn’t labeled as with a gluten-free certification, that doesn’t necessarily mean you need to avoid it.

For example, fruits, veggies, and various produce are gluten-free, but they will likely not contain any gluten-free certifications.

This post is all about apple cider gluten free.

Ingredient List

Another way to know if a product is gluten-free is to read the ingredient list. Avoid products with any of these:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Malt
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Oats

All of those terms mean gluten – so products with those ingredients should be avoided.

Allergen Label

Many packaged products have a list of common allergens. Sometimes products will have “contains wheat” in this section. If a label says “contains wheat” – that means there is gluten in the product.

However, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation, “a lack of allergen labeling does NOT mean that the product is gluten-free. Barley and rye are not in the top eight allergens required to be listed. Be sure to check the ingredients list for other hidden sources of gluten.”

Cross Contamination

Even if a product does not contain gluten as an ingredient, it may still be at risk of cross-contamination if it is made in a facility that also processes gluten-containing products.

To spot this, look for statements on the packaging such as “made in a facility that also processes wheat” or “may contain trace amounts of gluten.”

If a product has any of these statements, it may not be safe for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

This article is all about is cider gluten free.

More Gluten-Free Help

If you have additional questions about if food items are gluten-free, check out some of our other popular articles.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there gluten in cider?

Cider is gluten-free!

Can celiacs have cider?

Yes, celiacs can have cider. Apple cider is typically gluten-free. However, it is always smart to check product labels before consuming.

Is apple cider dairy and gluten free?

Yes, generally apple cider is dairy and gluten-free. However, it is always important to check the labels before consuming a product to be sure.