Is Maple Syrup Gluten-Free? Gluten-Free FAQ + Maple Syrup Brand List
Is maple syrup gluten-free? What brands of maple syrup are gluten-free? Keep reading to learn everything you need to know!
Is syrup gluten-free? If you are gluten-free, have a gluten intolerance, or have celiac disease, you may be wondering if maple syrup is gluten-free. Pancakes and waffles just aren’t the same without pancake syrup, so you will be happy to learn that most maple syrup is gluten-free.
In this article, we will share the top gluten-free maple syrup brands, what to watch for on labels to make sure your syrup is gluten-free, and more.
Thrive Market has tons of gluten-free pantry staples, snacks, and goodies! You can even sort and shop for only gluten-free options. I love that I can filter and shop for only gluten-free products. Thrive Market is also my go-to because I save money because all of their products are wholesale prices! If you want to check out Thrive Market, you can get a free gift when you sign up!
If you’re looking for gluten-free recipes, I love Danielle Walker’s cookbook Eat What You Love. This cookbook contains recipes that are gluten-free, dairy-free, and Paleo. Sometimes I feel like I am always making the same meals, so this cookbook provides me with tons of inspiration to whip up new meals!
Is Maple Syrup Gluten-Free?
Yes, pure maple syrup is gluten-free. 100% pure maple syrup is made from the sap of maple trees and does not contain any gluten.
However, it’s very important to read nutrition labels carefully. Most imitation syrups, often labeled as pancake syrup, contain additional ingredients like additives, flavorings, thickeners, or other ingredients that contain gluten.
Gluten-Free Pure Maple Syrup Brands
Looking for gluten-free maple syrup brands? Here is a list of 100% pure maple syrup brands that are gluten-free:
- Coombs Family Farms
- Butternut Mountain Farm
- 365 100% Maple Syrup
- Kirkland Signature 100% Maple Syrup
- Hidden Springs Maple
- Barred Woods
- Trader Joe’s 100% Maple Syrup
- Maple Grove Farms
Imitation Maple Syrup Vs Pure Maple Syrup
Imitation maple syrup is made with a variety of ingredients. These pancake syrups contain more than 100% pure maple syrup.
If you want to use an imitation syrup, make sure you read the nutrition label closely to ensure the ingredients have not changed and the syrup is indeed gluten-free.
Personally, I would recommend choosing 100% pure maple syrup over imitation syrup. Imitation syrups can contain hidden, sneaky proprietary blends that may contain gluten.
What Is Gluten?
Gluten is a type of protein that is found in wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten is used to help bind ingredients together when making bread and other products.
What To Look For On Labels When Avoiding Gluten
When shopping for gluten-free products, it’s important to read the nutrition label carefully to make sure the product is safe to consume. Here’s what to should look for on a nutrition label to determine if a product is gluten-free.
Sometimes products will have labels that say they are gluten-free. There are a few organizations like the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) and the Celiac Support Association (CSA) that test and verify that products are gluten-free.
The gluten-free certification is a helpful designation that some products have. Keep in mind, not all products that are gluten-free have gluten-free certification. So, if a product isn’t labeled as with a gluten-free certification, that doesn’t necessarily mean you need to avoid it.
For example, fruits, veggies, and various produce are gluten-free, but they will likely not contain any gluten-free certifications.
Another way to know if a product is gluten-free is to read the ingredient list. Avoid products with any of these:
- Brewer’s yeast
All of those terms mean gluten – so products with those ingredients should be avoided.
Many packaged products have a list of common allergens. Sometimes products will have “contains wheat” in this section. If a label says “contains wheat” – that means there is gluten in the product.
However, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation, “a lack of allergen labeling does NOT mean that the product is gluten-free. Barley and rye are not in the top eight allergens required to be listed. Be sure to check the ingredients list for other hidden sources of gluten.”
Even if a product does not contain gluten as an ingredient, it may still be at risk of cross-contamination if it is made in a facility that also processes gluten-containing products.
To spot this, look for statements on the packaging such as “made in a facility that also processes wheat” or “may contain trace amounts of gluten.”
If a product has any of these statements, it may not be safe for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
Is My Favorite Syrup Gluten-Free?
Now let’s dive into some other popular syrup brands and see if they are gluten-free.
Companies change their recipes and ingredients all the time. Please double-check the ingredients on packing when purchasing or contact the brand to confirm if a product is gluten-free.
Unfortunately, just because a brand was gluten-free in the past does not mean it will always be gluten-free.
Is Mrs. Butterworth’s maple syrup gluten-free?
Not safe for a gluten-free diet. Mrs Buttersworth syrup lists caramel color and natural and artificial flavors on their ingredient label. I would recommend avoiding this product and assuming that it is not gluten-free.
There is mixed information on whether Mrs Butterworth contains gluten. Some websites claim that Mrs Butterworth’s website had an allergen statement and is gluten-free, but as of the time of this writing, our team was unable to locate any allergen statements.
Is Aunt Jemima syrup gluten-free? Is Pearl Milling Company gluten-free?
Not safe for a gluten-free diet. Aunt Jemima is now called Pearl Milling Company.
Again, there are mixed statements about whether or not Pearl Milling Company syrup is gluten-free. Pearl Milling Company maple syrup does contain caramel color. Caramel color may be sourced from gluten – or it could not.
To be cautious, I would avoid this syrup if you are gluten-free.
Is Log Cabin maple syrup gluten-free?
Not safe for a gluten-free diet. Log Cabin maple syrup has caramel color as an ingredient, which may or may not contain gluten.
I would recommend avoiding this pancake syrup if you are gluten-free.
Is Kirkland maple syrup gluten-free?
Safe for a gluten-free diet. Kirkland maple syrup (Costco brand) contains 100% pure maple syrup. This means there are no added ingredients and it is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Frequently Asked Questions
Most 100% pure maple syrups are gluten-free. Some popular brands that are gluten-free are 365, Coombs Family Farms, Trader Joe’s 100% Maple Syrup and Butternut Mountain Farm.
Yes, celiacs can eat 100% pure maple syrup. It is always best to double-check nutrition labels, but 100% pure maple syrup is typically gluten-free.
Related: Is Cadbury Chocolate Gluten-Free?