Is Canola Oil Gluten-Free? The Surprising Facts You Need to Know

If you are cooking gluten-free meals, you may be wondering is canola oil gluten-free? Keep reading to learn if canola oil is gluten-free!

is canola oil gluten free

Canola oil is commonly used in kitchens for cooking and baking. If you have a gluten intolerance or celiac disease, you may be wondering if canola oil is gluten-free. In this article, we will answer all of your questions about canola oil and gluten.

Thrive Market has tons of gluten-free foods, snacks, pantry items, and frozen foods! I love that I can filter and shop for only gluten-free products. Thrive Market is also my go-to because I save money because all of their products are wholesale prices! If you want to check out Thrive Market, you can get a free gift when you sign up!

If you’re looking for new gluten-free recipes, I personally love Danielle Walker’s cookbook Eat What You Love. This cookbook contains recipes that are gluten-free, dairy-free, and Paleo. I feel like I am always making the same meals, so this cookbook provides me with tons of inspiration!

Is Canola Oil Gluten-Free?

Yes, canola oil is gluten-free. Thankfully most cooking oils are gluten-free! When purchasing canola oil, look for the certified gluten-free label.

List Of Gluten-Free Canola Oil Brands

Luckily pure canola oil is naturally gluten-free. This means that you will have a lot of options when choosing canola oil brands. As always, be sure to check the ingredients when purchasing to confirm the product is gluten-free.

It’s best to pick a canola oil with only one ingredient – canola oil. Here are some canola oil brands to check out:

What Is Canola Oil?

Canola is short for “Canadian Oil Low Acid.” Canola oil is a vegetable oil that is made from the rapeseed plant.

How To Use Canola Oil

There are many ways to use canola oil. Here are some common uses for canola oil.

  • Make your own dressing using canola oil
  • Use canola oil for cooking and baking
  • Fry up veggies on the stove using canola oil
  • Use canola oil for getting food crispy in the air fryer
  • Create your own marinades using canola oil

What To Look For On Labels When Avoiding Gluten

When shopping for gluten-free products, it’s important to read the nutrition label carefully to make sure the product is safe to consume. Here’s what to should look for on a nutrition label to determine if a product is gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Certification

Sometimes products will have labels that say they are gluten-free. There are a few organizations like the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) and the Celiac Support Association (CSA) that test and verify that products are gluten-free.

The gluten-free certification is a helpful designation that some products have. Keep in mind, not all products that are gluten-free have gluten-free certification. So, if a product isn’t labeled as with a gluten-free certification, that doesn’t necessarily mean you need to avoid it.

For example, fruits, veggies, and various produce are gluten-free, but they will likely not contain any gluten-free certifications.

Ingredient List

Another way to know if a product is gluten-free is to read the ingredient list. Avoid products with any of these:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Malt
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Oats

All of those terms mean gluten – so products with those ingredients should be avoided.

Allergen Label

Many packaged products have a list of common allergens. Sometimes products will have “contains wheat” in this section. If a label says “contains wheat” – that means there is gluten in the product.

However, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation, “a lack of allergen labeling does NOT mean that the product is gluten-free. Barley and rye are not in the top eight allergens required to be listed. Be sure to check the ingredients list for other hidden sources of gluten.”

Cross Contamination

Even if a product does not contain gluten as an ingredient, it may still be at risk of cross-contamination if it is made in a facility that also processes gluten-containing products.

To spot this, look for statements on the packaging such as “made in a facility that also processes wheat” or “may contain trace amounts of gluten.”

If a product has any of these statements, it may not be safe for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

More Gluten-Free Help

If you have more questions about food items that are gluten-free, check out some of our other popular articles.

Frequently Asked Questions

What oils are not gluten-free?

Most oils are naturally gluten-free, but it’s important to read the nutrition labels on any oil to make sure there are no potential sources of gluten. Some oils may be contaminated with gluten during processing or may contain added ingredients that are not gluten-free.

Is canola oil gluten and soy free?

Yes, canola oil is naturally gluten-free and soy-free. However, potential cross-contamination can occur during processing if the same equipment is used to process products that contain gluten or soy. It is always best to check the label to ensure it is gluten and soy-free.

Can people with celiac disease consume canola oil?

Yes, people with celiac disease can safely consume canola oil, as it is gluten-free. However, it is important to check the label to confirm the canola oil is gluten-free.

Related: Is Velveeta Gluten-Free?